A proud Tradition of Giving, Spirit Mountain Community Fund

Spirit Mountain Community Fund (SMCF) is our Tribe’s, The Grand Ronde Tribe’s, arm for corporate social responsibility.  It has several giving programs aimed at various project areas including education, health, arts & culture, the environment and others.  Last year SMCF reached the important milestone of over $50 million in giving since its inception.  For more information visit Spirit Mountain Community Fund website.

The Ghosts of Celilo, Grant Recipients

I am proud that our Tribe is generous.  It would be great if our membership could be more engaged in this giving.  By engaged, I mean each Tribal member having a voice for giving, each Tribal member having a personal understanding and connection to grant recipients.

As a Tribal member, if you could give $100 to any charity who would you give it to?  The charity would have to be an organization either governmental or a non-profit.  For example, you could give it to a school sports program, a local humane society, the Boy Scouts, your church, or to any one of the several hundred other charities in your community.

Local Humane Society

Now what if, somehow, you could direct $100 of giving from SMCF to that charity and the donation would be made on your behalf.  Would you want to have that kind of voice in giving?

Just an idea I thought I would float out to our Tribal membership.  What do you think?

About andyjenness

Christian, Husband, Father, Son, Brother, Grand Ronde Tribal Member, Entrepreneur, Friend. Education: BS Economics, Masters of Business Administration, Masters of Science in Journalism; University of Oregon. Personality: Passionate, Compassionate, Champion for Justice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A proud Tradition of Giving, Spirit Mountain Community Fund

  1. Lana Takhar says:

    This very stressful reading this, I was elected on the elders committee last year, and with some of the current committee members it is impossible to have any kind of input, and was told by the treasurer that “if you don’t like the way things are run around here then get your @#$#@$ out of here and leave.” I was encourage to stay by Margaret P. and few others, but I felt very intimidated, and was also told that the council wants to talk to me, never happened, I try to stay away from any functions or trips they have. I wanted to help in any way I could for the elders, but it is as if people don’t want another person to do more than they do. I tried to clean the wet room in the elders activities center, they just unloaded everything in the middle of the room and left it during the move from the old craft house. I felt insulted by the mess, after all it is a very expensive building, so tried to clean it, I was told to just back off, by Gladys Hobbs. I resigned beings the council wasn’t interested one way or another to talk to me about the problem.
    At Christmastime of ’09 Louise M. was in charge of decorating, she ask me to help her. They were so intimidating she quit and I was left doing most of it myself. Never got a thank you. Well I just wanted to let someone know all this mess that’s going on with the elders, they are just keeping everything that’s wrong hush-hush.
    I’ve been told by a lot of the older elders not to quit, and that things aren’t the way they used to be.
    They get upset with people who don’t do things for them but I can see why, when you’re an outsider looking in it’s very obvious, I’ve been off the committee for about a yr. and haven’t been in any functions with them and as soon as things change with that family (which they are all family except Duane Wheeler, the treasurer.
    Yes Andy, I really know what you’re going through. This is just some of the things that are wrong around here, I can’t afford to move or I would move. life is too short to be around this stress.
    The elder housing is wasting away also, there is moss growing on the roofs and the siding is chipping, I brought it up when I went to one of the housing meetings, they came over for a couple days and cleaned a couple roofs off and that’s as far a sit got.
    Well enough of my rambling. Nothing is going to change except maybe if people read this it will change alright for the worse for me but there needs as the saying goes, there needs to be transparency.

    • andyjenness says:

      Lana,
      Thank you for sharing your story. I know it is frustrating. There have been times when I feel like giving up but then I am reminded of a scene from the Disney movie “The Lion King.” When Simba is going back to fight his evil uncle for control of the pride, Simba says: “It’s my pride, if I don’t fight for it nobody else will.” I say it this way “It’s my Tribe, if I don’t fight for it nobody else will.” Join me in fighting for our Tribe.
      Best,
      Andy

  2. marta clifford says:

    I think this is a great idea and I’m sure we could come up with many places that could use an extra $100.00. How about keeping the homeless shelter open when it gets below freezing.

    • andyjenness says:

      Marta,
      That would be a great place to give an extra $100. I hope to hear other suggestions on how and where members would give. Thanks for reading.
      Best,
      Andy

  3. marta clifford says:

    I just read the post from Lana and my heart is crying now. I’m so sorry one of our tribal elders has to put up with such treatment from our own “family” but from personal expierence I too know how mean and hateful some of our fellow tribal members can be. As our mom (Dorothy Parazoo) always told us “if you can’t say something nice about someone then don’t say anything at all”. Well I think there are many trible members that need to be kinder and more respectful to the people who don’t live in Grand Ronde, and to all fellow tribal members!

Leave a Reply

